Interested in joining the Willimantic Orchestra? 

We are a diverse group of musicians who enjoy working together to bring quality music to our community. We rehearse on Thursday evenings and present 3-4 concerts per year. Our section vacancies vary, but we are always interested in the possibility of new members, and encourage you to inquire. For further details, please contact our Director, Scott Chaurette:

Our Conductor

Scott Chaurette enjoys a varied career as a conductor, bassist, and teacher. For 11 years he was Music Director of the Worcester, MA based Seven Hills Symphony where he worked with world-renowned professional soloists, coordinated performances featuring symphonic music with multimedia, and ran outreach programs to local schools and community organizations. Scott looks to make orchestral music fun and accessible for everyone, breaking down the barriers of formality that often accompany the orchestral performance experience, and selecting innovative programs often containing non-traditional elements. As a guest conductor he has been invited to lead youth, community, and regional honors orchestras throughout New England. His conducting teachers include Toshiyuki Shimada, Edward Cumming, Jeffrey Renshaw, and Peter Sacco. 

A classically trained bassist, Scott holds a BM from the Boston Conservatory and an MM from the University of Illinois. He has performed with ensembles including the Portland Symphony, Boston Philharmonic, Boston Modern Orchestra Project, Rhode Island Philharmonic, and the Hop River Chamber Players. Scott has also studied jazz, contemporary styles, and bass guitar technique at the Berklee College of Music. He has over 20 years experience playing in bands ranging in style from rock to R&B to tango. 

Scott is also the Chair of the Fine Arts Department and Director of Orchestral Activities at E.O. Smith High School in Storrs, CT where he leads a thriving arts department. Previous teaching positions include the University of Connecticut, Western New England College, and St. Joseph’s College. 

Scott has been our Conductor since the 2017-2018 concert season.

Current Orchestra Board Members

President – Peggy Webbe
Vice President – Joan D’Auria
Treasurer – Paul Navratil
Secretary – Sondra Boyer
Cheryl Bayline
Rick Bennett
Joanna Chaurette
Liz Davis
Morgan Glasberg
Brian Girasoli
Kurt Kaufman
Althea Madigan
Dianne Tewksbury

Orchestra personnel of the 2018-2019 Season

Violin I
Paul Navratil, Concertmaster
Kayla DeCaprio
Barbara Horn
Margalit Kaufman
Anatole Keshwani
Matei Mandoiu
Joseph Presson II
Sharon Whitehead

Violin II
Morgan Glasberg
Cheryl Bayline
Adeline Bray
Michael Geigert
Kristina Hansen
Hyunmin Lee 
Dianne Tewksbury
Jacob Wrubel

Lindsey Clark
Dora DeCaprio
Gale Eberly
Barbara Gibson
Don Shankweiler

Kurt Kaufman
Sondra Boyer
Emily Green
John Lenard
Mary Neyssen
Peggy Webbe

Liz Davis
Joanna Chaurette

Joan D’Auria
Elisa Dicaprio
Sandra Smith Rosado

Sandra Smith Rosado

Emily Ferguson
Sue Butler
Althea Madigan

Rick Bennett
Shirley Roe
Adella Carlson

Peggy Church
Sutton Fransen
Holly Valentine 

Noah Fotis
Megan Kirwin
Peter Palmer
Shondra Texeira

Jason Bosque
John Helmke 
Dave Parsons 

Andrea Arel
Luke Conklin
Ross Koning
Kevin Tracy 

Liz Kiebler

Jai Cai
Terry Cote
Brian Girasoli
Liz Kiebler

Lindsey Haukom

© Willimantic Orchestra 2018-2019